Six STEM Tweets - Sep 1 2024

CPUs - on aircraft, water-powered and more

Six STEM Tweets

Six tweets that celebrate engineering and all things STEM.

I scroll so you don’t have to.

Hi 👋 new friends! Welcome. If you like this, let me know. And forward to others.

All past issues are online

Let’s get to it…

#1

It always helps to have a different way of looking at things. Perspective helps in understanding - math and everything else.

#2

My first reaction was a little surprise at these hardware choices - all off-the-shelf chips. But then I realized that it makes sense for cost reasons. And they write custom software on hardened OSs on these chips. So it’s a good engineering trade-off.

#3

Imagine the memory leak on this one. You would have to clean it up with an actual mop. 😆 

#4

What an engineering marvel! The first re-usable spacecraft.

#5

I love serendipity!

#6

😁 

I am just waiting for someone to make a version that includes the Spock variant 😃 

This is issue #38 of #SixSTEMTweets

A few fun facts about 38:

  • sum of the squares of the first three primes (22 + 32 + 52 )

  • The atomic number of strontium

  • The 38th parallel north is the pre-Korean War boundary between North Korea and South Korea (goes through today’s DMZ)

    • (I got a chance to visit the DMZ this summer. A very unique experience.)

  • The international calling code 38 was formerly assigned to Yugoslavia until its break-up in 1991 (this is the 2nd in a row of discontinued country codes. Last week’s 37 was assigned to East Germany)

We are now in the “offset by 2” months. The 9th month named after 7 and so on.

Shows that naming things has been a challenge since the ancient times… 😁 

I love hearing from my subscriber friends.

Brad wrote: Great tweets and great visuals!

Thanks Brad!

About

This newsletter is my way of sharing interesting science-related news with my curious friends. I enjoy finding science and math connections in our world.

Please share this newsletter with others. Let’s encourage curiosity.

- Harshal (@hschhaya on X/Twitter)

That’s it for this issue.

Hit ‘reply’ to tell me what you think.

And hit ‘forward’ to share with your friends and family.

Let’s all celebrate science and engineering and curiosity.

Best wishes,

Harshal