Six STEM Tweets - May 26 2024

Pluto's naming anniversary, all-terrain wheelchairs and more

Six STEM Tweets

Six tweets that celebrate engineering and all things STEM.

I scroll so you don’t have to.

Thanks for the feedback, comments and suggestions. Keep them coming.

I have included a couple of messages from you all at the bottom.

If you like the information here, share it with a friend, a colleague, a family member. They will appreciate the gift of knowledge.

You can forward them this newsletter or ask them to subscribe at https://sixstemtweets.beehiiv.com/

#1

Seeing this image puts things in perspective, doesn’t it?

#2

I am still a little peeved at Pluto’s reclassification as a dwarf planet in 2006. It’s like it was admitted to an elite club and after several years asked to wait outside. 😐️ 

It didn’t even finish one rotation around the sun between its inclusion and demotion. 😐️

Pluto was named by an 11-year-old girl.

In 1930, Venetia Burney of Oxford, England, suggested to her grandfather that the new discovery be named for the Roman god of the underworld. He forwarded the name to the Lowell Observatory and it was selected.

#3

It’s fascinating to see large scale weather patterns in a single image.

#4

The fact that an all-terrain wheelchair exists makes me happy 😃 

And that they can be checked out for free is even better. 😃 😃 

Engineering and public services for the win! 👏 

#5

Their light lunch ends up supporting all our lunches.

Hooray for photosynthesis!

#6

This is font nerdiness to the next level. I love it!

(Note: HT Cedric Bond is not the name of a font. I thought so at first and had to re-read it before it made sense. 😄 )

Fonts are utilitarian till they become important.

If you aren’t familiar with the critical role that the Calibri font played in Pakistan’s politics, give this a read: The Font that Toppled a Government

Subscriber feedback

I loved this from reader KH:

I am constantly learning new things since subscribing to your "Six STEM Tweets" newsletter. Leibniz and binary code, "amicable numbers," I mean how nerdy can one get?

And here's my 'nerdy' contribution: My alma mater (U of Heidelberg) was founded in 1386. Now that's an old school. I sometimes felt some of the physics buildings were from the original construction 🤣 

And reader CH wrote:

These are the types of Tweets I like to read. Keep 'em coming!

That’s it for this issue.

Hit ‘reply’ to tell me what you think.

And hit ‘forward’ to share with your friends and family.

Let’s all celebrate science and engineering and curiosity.

Best wishes,

Harshal