Six STEM Tweets - July 28 2024

Starry PCB, Lunar customs and more

Six STEM Tweets

Six tweets that celebrate engineering and all things STEM.

I scroll so you don’t have to.

Welcome to issue #32

32 has a lot of fun characteristics

  • Fifth power of 2

  • 32 bits in a computer word (for most modern chips)

  • Atomic number of Germanium

  • Freezing point of water on the Fahrenheit scale

  • Number of teams in the US NFL and NHL leagues

And more

Did I miss anything you particularly like about 32? Hit ‘reply’ and let me know.

I love hearing from y’all.

Last week, SJ wrote: thanks for bringing science back in my life ...

I mean, come on! That’s just so nice to read, right? I do want to clarify that the science was always there, I may have helped focus on the light on it.

And JM wrote: I had a pi-related question in an exam I gave my students at an MIT summer camp on 7/22. I did not realize the significance of the day till I read the newsletter later in the evening.

From students to teachers, this newsletter has something for everyone. 😃 

If you know someone who will appreciate this newsletter, please forward it to them. Each issue has instructions on how to sign-up.

Let’s spread the culture of curiosity!

If you see any interesting math, science or engineering connection with the ongoing Olympics, please let me know.

Last week marked a year since the LK99 story first broke? Do you remember it? The promise of a room-temperature superconductor! Oh man! I was so stoked about it. I followed the ups and downs of that story for days. Alternated between “it’s all over” and “we are SO back!” and finally was bummed when it wasn’t reproducible.

However, it was a fantastic example of science in action - a claim was made and many, many people - amateur scientists as well as well-funded professional labs - jumped in to prove it themselves. The eventual result was disappointing but it was really gratifying to see the widespread interest in science and technology.

Let’s get on with this issue.

#1

#2

A small flight outing for the dad resulted in a giant step for mankind.

#3

A PCB that’s both functional and beautiful! 🤩 

#4

#5

I have an irrational fondness for pi. If I see a fun pi-related tweet, you will see it too.

#6

That’s the hardware solution 🤣 

That’s it for this issue.

Hit ‘reply’ to tell me what you think.

And hit ‘forward’ to share with your friends and family.

Let’s all celebrate science and engineering and curiosity.

Best wishes,

Harshal