Six STEM Tweets - Aug 14 2024

Venn diagrams and more Venn diagrams

Six STEM Tweets

Six tweets that celebrate engineering and all things STEM.

I scroll so you don’t have to.

This is a special mid-week issue. Dedicated to Venn diagrams.

Let’s go…

#1

A real-life, metal-on-brick Venn diagram! 🤩 

#2

I am just like an electron. Difficult to pin down.

#3

#4

Brian Bilston is an engineer with words - he uses them as components in an intricate system where the whole is way more amazing than the sum of its parts.

#5

I love Randall Munroe’s xkcd because it is so dense with lovely information shared in a simple style

The "alt” text for the above cartoon says: "Things Leonhard Euler created ( most of math ( overlapping circle diagrams ) a cricket bowling machine ) Things John Venn created"

#6

I hope you enjoyed this special mid-week issue dedicated to Venn diagrams.

Do you have a favorite Venn diagram? Hit ‘reply’ to share it with me.

Are there other special topics that deserve a special issue? Which ones?

This is the 35th issue of the newsletter

Some fun facts about 35

  • 35 is the sum of the first five triangular numbers (0, 1, 3, 6, 10, 15) making it a tetrahedral number

    • A triangular number or triangle number counts objects arranged in an equilateral triangle.

  • Atomic number of Bromine

  • 35mm is the most common analog film format

About

This newsletter is my way of sharing interesting science-related news with my curious friends. I enjoy finding science and math connections in our world.

Please share this newsletter with others.

That’s it for this issue.

Hit ‘reply’ to tell me what you think.

And hit ‘forward’ to share with your friends and family.

Let’s all celebrate science and engineering and curiosity.

Best wishes,

Harshal